Need a Brooklyn DWI Attorney?
Call (718) 395-2067
Today For A Free Consultation!
Law enforcement within the state of New York is very strict when it comes
to the issue of drinking and driving. Individuals can be arrested and
charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), commonly known as driving
under the influence (DUI), even if their blood alcohol level is below
the legal limit. If the arresting officer deems that the effects of alcohol
have impacted the individual to the point that he or she should not be
operating a motor vehicle, an offense of driving while ability impaired
(DWAI) can be charged. If you have been charged with a DWI, it is vital
that you contact a
Brooklyn DWI lawyer as soon as you are able.
Contact us today to start discussing your defense with our
DUI lawyer in Brooklyn.
When You Can Be Charged With a DWI
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Levels
- 0.08% if you are 21 or older
- 0.04% if you are driving a commercial motor vehicle
- 0.02% if you are younger than 21 years old
Penalties for DWI Charges in New York
First & Second Offenses:
- For just a first-time DWI offense or for an offense of DWAI by drugs, you
can face up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a 6-month license
- For a second offense, the penalties increase. You can face a license revocation
for at least a year, a fine of up to $5,000, and up to 4 years in jail.
No matter what level of charge you are facing, a DUI charge can negatively
impact your life. For that reason, you are encouraged to
get the help you need from the Brooklyn DUI defense attorney at the
Law Offices of Lowell J. Sidney.
Call today to get started on your
free case evaluation!